By default, mails are saved but not visible to end users. In order to make them visible you will need to grant the project-level permission:
open the Jira administration and select a permission scheme
grant the “Mail History” permission to a project role / group / user
Using the plugin
The plugin adds a new issue tab panel that shows you all outgoing emails:
Allows you to view the contents of a message
In order to comply with data protection regulations, we do not store the mail history forever. The mails are removed:
if the linked issue is deleted
they are seven years old
The retention period can be configured in monthly steps by Jira administrators. To configure the period you need to make a PUT request to the url shown below with a json request body with only “months” as parameter. The default value for the retention period is 84 months which equals 7 years.
We don’t render images for security reasons. Images are frequently used to track if a person has read a message since the sender of the message knows if you opened the image. Mail History behaves in the same way as most email clients.